The one in which Mizzban finds herself unexpectedly homeless.

For one, I am fully aware that it has been ages since I last wrote anything here, the fact has not been lost on me whenever I see anything with the date on it. I have been homeless now for 1,2,3 almost five weeks, and to say that it has been the easy “few nights here and there” I imagined it would be when I moved out over a month ago, would be a massive lie.
My flat, the flat I had worked so hard to find, the one I found after unceremonially losing my last flatshare due to a certain someone’s mental issues and a shitty letting agency. The one I was due to move into a week ago, fell through. It seems that even once you are approved for a tenancy, have paid the deposit and agency fees, booked the removal men, put your stuff into storage and set out into the world with nothing but a bag and your cat in a travel case, you are STILL only a step away from being homeless.
It wasn’t supposed to be like this, of course, my amazing friends and their offers of “somewhere to stay” I am positive never extended past a week or two and yet here I still am, another sofa, another single bed and another step closer to feeling I might lose my mind with the stress. With money tied up, not only in one property, but with agency fees and deposit still yet to be returned to me, I wasn’t even sure if I had the cash to get anywhere whilst I waited for all my various funds to be released.
But because I am, in the words of Beyonce “A Survivor” I began that tedious search for somewhere new. When you lose a place that you had formerly imagined was perfect for you, the alternatives always seem that little bit worse. There was the flat an hour from anywhere, in the middle of a scabby estate, the one room “studio” in a great part of town but the layout of which meant that I would have to sleep on the draining board and keep my clothes in the shower. It was last Tuesday, whilst I was heading home from a particularly soul destroying viewing (a flat with an ominous looking “security door”) that I found somewhere that just might be ok. BS3, the postcode WAS after all back in the area I had hoped to move back to, the specifications of the place SOUNDED alright, but there were no pictures.. what the hell was wrong with this place?
To cut a long story short I now have a flat. It IS that ground floor place in BS3, the place with the quirky layout which surprisingly has a lot of space and is one road away from two of my closest friends. The outside looks pretty anonymous, but the space being all mine is a lifechanger and I cannot wait to move in next Monday… that is if nothing else goes wrong.

The one in which Mizzban finds herself unexpectedly homeless.

One thought on “The one in which Mizzban finds herself unexpectedly homeless.

Talk to me!

